ICC2011 logo

CFP for Symposium on Selected Areas in Communications - Satellite & Space Communications Track (SAC-SSC)

bulletB Symposium Chair

  • Takaya Yamazato
    EcoTopia Science Institute, Nagoya University
    E-mail: yamazato@ieee.org

bulletB Scope and Motivation

Many of the wireless technologies used today are based on the efforts initiated by satellite communications researchers four decades ago. Thus the main technology behind the different applications is very similar in both terrestrial and space systems. This is very supportive today, with the ever-growing demand for multimedia services, high mobility and global connectivity leading us to a truly transparent interoperability of our flourishing communications infrastructure. Satellite systems have always a key role to play covering this demand for ordinary as well as for emergency situations.
The Satellite and Space Communications track solicits original and unpublished work not currently under review by any other conference or journal. The focus of this track is targeted at exploring and discussing new technical breakthrough and applications focusing on all aspects related to satellite and space communications.

bulletB Main Topics of Interest

Articles for this special issue will be solicited through an open call-for-papers to experts in the field from industry and academia. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

Air Interface over Satellite Networks
  • Adaptive coding modulation for satellite communication networks
  • Fading countermeasures over satellite networks
  • Power and bandwidth allocation solutions over satellite networks
  • Emerging standards: DVB-S2, DVB-RCS NG, DVB-SH, 3G and beyond, IP over Satellite
  • Multi-carrier techniques for satellite communications
  • Applications of Multi-User Detection techniques to satellite network
  • Advanced MAC protocols
  • Software radio for satellite communications
  • RF Design and Phase Array for satellite communications
Payload architectures and Techniques
  • System and payload co-design paradigms
  • Flexible payloads architectures
  • Enabling payload technologies
  • Advances in active antennas for satellite communications
Internetworking, Architecture, Protocols, Applications and Standards in Satellite Networks
  • S-WIMAX: Adaptation of 802.16e for Mobile Satellite Services
  • Performance Enhancement Proxy (PEP) architectures and solutions
  • Spectrum allocation & standards
  • QoS-oriented solutions for DVB-S2, DVB-RCS, IP over satellite
  • Security in satellite and hybrid networks
  • New protocols for delay tolerant networks
  • Deep-space communications
  • Towards the Gigabit/s satellite
  • Convergence and integration among satellite networks, terrestrial networks and space platforms
  • Satellite technology for mobile services
  • Satellite communications and "Digital Divide" issues
Control Algorithms for Satellite Networks
  • Satellite network control and management
  • Control architectures and algorithms for satellite and heterogeneous internetworking
  • Control schemes for resource allocation over satellite channels
New paradigm in Satellite and Space Communications
  • Quantum communication in Space
  • Satellite communication using laser
  • Satellite/terrestrial frequency sharing

bulletB Technical Program Committee

  • Takahiro Aoyagi, Tokyo Institute of Technology , Japan
  • Michel Bousquet, SUPAERO, France
  • Giovanni Corazza, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Alban Duverdier, Centre National D'Etudes Spatiales (CNES), France
  • Marc Emmelmann, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
  • Thierry Gayraud, Toulouse University of Science, LAAS-CNRS, France
  • Hiroyasu Ishikawa, KDDI R&D Laboratories Inc., Japan
  • Kim Jae Moung, INHA University, Korea
  • Merkourios Karaliopoulos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • Sooyoung Kim, Chonbuk National University, Korea
  • Kazuhiro Kimura, NICT, Japan
  • Shinichi Miyamoto, Osaka University, Japan
  • Minoru Okada, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
  • Fotini-Niovi Pavlidou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Sandro Scalise, DLR (German Aerospace Center), Germany
  • Petia Todorova, Fraunhofer-FOKUS, Germany
  • Masahiro Umehira, Ibaraki University, Japan
  • Alessandro Vanelli-Coralli, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Hiromitsu Wakana, National Institute of Information & Communications Technology, Japan
  • Takaya Yamazato, Nagoya University, Japan