ICC2011 logo


On behalf of the ICC2011 Technical Program Committee, we would like to welcome
you all to IEEE ICC 2011 in Kyoto, Japan.

The ICC 2011 Technical Program Committee received 2839 technical paper submissions from 64 countries and regions, and selected 1092 papers for presentation at Kyoto. The overall acceptance ratio was 38.5%. For this selection, each paper was carefully peer-reviewed by at least three reviewers, all of whom are working closely with the 47 symposium co-chairs and approximately 2300 TPC members in the 11 Symposia. The accepted papers will be presented in 198 sessions: 180 lecture-style sessions (900 papers) and 18 poster-style sessions (192 papers). There is no relation at all between the quality of the papers and the presentation styles, and all papers are treated equally for publication in the ICC2011 proceedings.

The conference program will start with Keynote Addresses by Mr. Ryuji Yamada, NTT Docomo Inc., and Prof. Maurizio Decina, Politecnico di Milano. It will continue with a series of plenary talks by 10 executive leaders from both industry and academia, and 12 panel sessions on emerging topics in the business forums. For the workshop, we have selected 9 full-day or half-day workshops, where 81 papers are selected out of the 171 submitted. For the tutorials, we chose the best 16 tutorials from the 59 proposals received.

This remarkable program would not have been possible without the dedicated efforts of the volunteers from the entire ICC2011 Technical Program Committee. We are most grateful to the symposium co-chairs, TPC members, and the reviewers who worked so hard to complete the peer-review process on schedule, and to the workshop co-chairs, the tutorial co-chairs and the business forum co-chairs, who diligently organized their parts of the program. In addition, our sincere gratitude should be given to all authors who submitted their works to IEEE ICC 2011. We hope that the whole program will be interesting and stimulating to you all.

Kazuo Hiromi Abbas
Kazuo Hagimoto,
TPC Chair
Hiromi Ueda,
TPC Vice-Chair
Abbas Jamalipour,
TPC Vice-Chair